What do you wake up to?

My first of June was tough. I was coughing nonstop since the night before, so I decided to work from home. Then I woke up to an awful text message, and I was in tears first thing in the morning.

The text message hit me where it hurts – my insecurities, worries, and fears. I didn’t have time to process it because my emotions got ahead of me. It wasn’t until later when I realized I may have overreacted.

Now imagine if, instead of looking at my phone first thing in the morning, I opened my Bible first. Imagine if I’ve read verses of encouragement before I read that text message. I might have laughed it off, instead of thinking that life is unfair and I hate it.

It’s true, what you do in the morning can really make or break the rest of your day. Will you feel insecure today because of that pretty high school batch mate you saw on Facebook who is, by the way, already engaged? Will you be afraid today because of the newspaper headlines? Will you be anxious today because of your e-mails that keep piling up? Will you be sad today because the only text messages you get aside from work-related ones are reminders of unpaid bills?

I want to wake up, everyday, to a reminder of the future hope. I know who I am in Christ, but sometimes the daily grind keeps me from fully understanding what it means to be a Christian. It means my hope is in Christ alone. My future is bright, my soul is secure, and nothing can separate me from the love of God.

From now on, this is how I want my days to begin: with a reminder of why I’m here in the first place. I don’t belong here, and yet by God’s grace, I’m still standing.

So, what do you wake up to?

By day the Lord commands his steadfast love,and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

Psalm 42: 8

 

Leave a Reply

