On ‘waiting’

Here’s a fresh perspective from a best friend, on couples who ‘wait’ on each other until they can make their romantic relationship official (a frustratingly common practice among young Christians):

It’s unfair to expect someone to wait for you until the time is right because what if said someone likes someone else while supposedly waiting for you? Will you take it against him or her? Will you also fault anyone else who will like said someone just because you’re already waiting for him or her?

Tell this to my 19-year-old self and she would defend her actions to death. But 24-year-old Jee sees its wisdom and believes that when the Bible said in Song of Solomon 8:4 “not to awaken love until it so desires,” it meant waiting without excuses, and waiting without backups, because if you have a backup, then you’re not truly waiting.

But when love finally awakens and comes, seize it, and never let go. Fight for it and pray for it, stick with it through and through – beyond the butterflies in your stomach, the honeymoon stage, and the good days.

Don’t take the shortcut for something as beautiful as love.

One thought on “On ‘waiting’

  1. Reminds me of an essay on waiting by Roland Barthes: ““Am I in love? — Yes, since I’m waiting.” The other never waits. Sometimes I want to play the part of the one who doesn’t wait; I try to busy myself elsewhere, to arrive late; but I always lose at this game: whatever I do, I find myself there, with nothing to do, punctual, even ahead of time. The lover’s fatal identity is precisely: I am the one who waits.”

Leave a Reply

