Freestyle

My love affair with words began with notebooks
I’d pick up a blank one lying around the house
And bring it with me everywhere
To school, where the hours are long
To church, where a Sunday is too short
I’d write about whatever comes to mind
What I ate, who I saw, what I felt
What I want, who I want, why I want him
The heart longs what it longs, who it longs
And back in the day, I didn’t know how to refuse

My love affair with words is tricky
It comes and goes, then comes again
I write for a living, but I don’t write about how I live
What I live for, who I live for, why I live
I wish I could be that girl again
Notebook in one hand, pen in another
Both hands smeared with ink
Can’t stop writing, won’t stop writing
Because any day written down on a notebook
Is a good day

Leave a Reply

