A year of Winner

Photo from the Internet

Photo from the Internet | From center, clockwise: Kang Seung-yoon, Kim Jin-woo, Nam Tae-hyun, Song Min-ho, Lee Seung-hoon

It’s been exactly a year since KPop group Winner made their broadcast debut, and this is an appreciation post dedicated to the only KPop group I adore with all my heart.

Unlike most members of Inner Circle (Winner’s fanbase! hehe), I’m a late bloomer. I only knew about the group late June-early July 2015, when I discovered Kang Seung-yoon in We Broke Up, his drama with Dara. His acting leaves much to be desired, BUT THAT VOICE. So I looked him up on YouTube and learned he was part of a reality talent show and later went on to be a trainee of YG Entertainment.

Then I remembered one of my conversations with my best friend Camille in 2014 (or 2013?) when she talked about a tv show where two teams had to compete to debut under YG. The said tv show is named Who is Next: WIN, and Kang Seung Yoon is part of Team A!

From We Broke Up, I watched Who is Next:WIN, obviously rooting for Team A since I’m biased like that. I already knew from the get-go that Team A would win (I watched the show 2 years after it aired, after all), but by the end of the 10th episode, I was even more convinced they deserved to debut first than the younger boys of Team B.

Team A was the underdog – the talented team that went through one loss after another. But they were determined – nay, desperate – to win, and more than that, they had amazing teamwork.

Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 10.39.49 AM

This is a screenshot of rapper Song Min-ho, but I’m using the photo not because he is my bias but because this is my favorite part of Team A’s live performance of Smile Again. I’ve binge-watched almost everything they’re on from pre-debut ’til present, but this remains my favorite live performance of Winner.

But yes, I love Song Min-ho and his crazy antics. He lightens up every room he’s in, and he’s arguably the most handsome of the 5 members. He can write up the wittiest rap verses and he performs like a pro. Aside from rapping, he can also draw, too!

The other rapper in the group is Lee Seung-hoon. Mino’s voice is deeper (think T.O.P of Big Bang), but Seung Hoon’s voice is more colorful. He also choreographs the group’s dance routines, so obviously he’s one of the best (if not the best) dancers in the group (although dancing is not Winner’s strength).

The other 3 are vocalists. Kim Jin-woo is the hyung among the 5, but he is also the most aegyo. He has deer eyes, and his voice is soft – perfect for singing lullabies. He may not be the strongest vocalist, but he can harmonize with the rest of the group and bring a song to life.

Nam Tae-hyun is the youngest of the group. It’s easy to remember him, with his trademark “middle part” hairstyle and “droopy” eyebrows. In fact, I’d say he’s the most idol-looking in the group. He acts, too! I have yet to watch his latest drama, Midnight Diner, but his stint as Eun-sang (Park Shin Hye) in Winner’s parody of The Heirs is both hilarious and promising. Tae-hyun is almost always the singer in charge of the high notes (aside from Kang Seung-yoon). He doesn’t hit them perfectly all the time, but when he does, oh boy~ He also composes songs for the group.

Last but definitely not the least is my love, my bias, my Kang Seung-yoon oppa hehe. During WIN, Min-ho was originally the team leader, but Kang Seung-yoon took on the job when Min-ho got injured. Seung-yoon has been doing a great job since. He is definitely the strongest vocalist in the group. He also writes songs, and can do so quickly, if needed. In fact, he wrote Smile Again – an original song praised by YG’s Yang Hyun Suk and other leaders in the industry.

I could go on and on about this group, but I’d stop here because who am I kidding? I’m only talking to myself anyway. I hope you understand – for years, I’ve always had to explain to people that I like KDramas, not KPop, but then Winner happened and I’ve fallen in love.

Happy debut anniversary, boys! Definitely looking forward to your own concert here in the Philippines. To hear you say “Guess who’s back?” live would be a dream come true.🙂

PS: For fans of Team B (now iKon!!!), don’t worry, I love them too. For the record, Long Time No See has been stuck in my head for days now.

PPS: If this blog entry piqued your curiosity for Winner, I’d recommend the videos below to get you started:

Who is Next: WIN

WinnerTV (pre-debut)

‘(empty)’ (debut stage, Inkigayo)

Weekly Idol

Leave a Reply

