Don’t ever stop

On writing

A former student messaged me last week, asking me to look over her draft of a profile she wrote about her best friend. At first I didn’t know where to start editing – she’s a college sophomore, and there’s so much she needed to improve on. I ended up just giving my comments due to time constraints, but she thanked me anyway for taking the time to help her.

I told her the only way to get better in writing is to keep writing, even when you’re not in the mood. Write every day: on journals, blogs, tissues, everywhere! During my longest writer’s block in 2012, it was my professor’s (now boss) only advice, that I push myself anyway, and keep writing.

Stopping costs a lot (believe me, I know). If you love what you do, don’t ever stop.

On running

Today I pushed myself to run faster after every 10-minute interval, so before I even reached my 30th minute, I was already out of breath. I’m seriously out of shape, I know, but I don’t hate my body so much as to kill myself just to finish 30 minutes.

If I do this regularly enough, I know there will come a time the 30th minute will be a piece of cake. For now, I’m just glad I actually went out of the house when the bed has been so clingy all day.

A bonus: After running, I was catching my breath and doing warm-ups by the gym’s balcony when I looked up and saw countless stars in the sky! What a treat. It’s not every day I get to pause like that.

Thank you, Lord. It’s still a beautiful world, and we’re all still under the same sky.

One thought on “Don’t ever stop

Leave a Reply

