In which I remember a great night

It’s 4 am and I’m writing even if I have to be up later at 7, but I want to write this down anyway before I forget what a great night I had on Saturday, February 8.

Tonight, I was in my happy place again (Ateneo) with people I care about (Kai + Rapplers). That would’ve been enough to make me happy, but there’s something about an evening stroll in Ateneo, heartfelt laughter, hour-long conversations not punctuated by people checking their phones all the time, and a finished bottle of beer (finally!) that will make me remember every simple, ordinary thing that happened tonight.

I keep forgetting how valuable it is for me to really make time for people — to sit down with them and talk about life even when life is not always worth talking about.

While it’s convenient to hide behind my work and dramas and busy schedules, tonight reminded me that I am most happy and most satisfied when I spend time with people, old or new. True, I am still cynic about a lot of things, but I’m at least¬†hopeful with this one: 2014 will be a year of better conversations.

I’m excited to see wherever that declaration leads me.

Leave a Reply

