Because Shen Xing Ren is driving me crazy (A Rant)

This is a rant. You have been warned.

The Taiwanese drama heroine archetype is like this: she’s poor but hardworking, frugal and filial, very kindhearted, endures every trial that comes her way with a strong will, and, as much as possible, always keeps all her problems to herself until she can’t hold them any longer and she has to weep silently in a corner.

If I count all the TDramas I have seen, I may have already exceeded one-digit. This is why I know, and am very well used to, the TDrama heroine archetype. But what’s driving me crazy is that this Shen Xing Ren (Alice Ke) of Office Girls is just so naive, and downright irritating! I’m already watching the second to the last episode as of this posting, and I don’t know why, after all she and Qin Zi Qi (Roy Qiu) has been through, she still can’t trust her lover’s feelings for her, and more so, she can’t still believe in herself. Sure, I’d believe that if we’re only, say, ten episodes in. BUT GIRL, we’re already on the twenty-freakin-four episode!!! Why are you so fragile and weak?! Why is your character so cardboard cutout?! Do you always need to be swept off your feet to actually believe in true love? Do you need a you-and-me-against-the-world situation to start being brave? Because I did not just spend 24 hours!!!! just to see you go all “I’m so poor, I don’t fit being your girlfriend! Why do you like me? There’s nothing special about me!” Come on, woman. You’ve been asking those questions for so many times already, and hasn’t he answered you with patience every single time?!

If I were him I would’ve lost my patience with you already. And you have not even grown at all since Episode 1! No character growth from your side of the story. Sure, you helped Zi Qi mature and be more responsible, but what about you? What have you learned from your interactions with him? You’re so plain and basic from start to finish, that I think right now he’s really too good for you already.

5 thoughts on “Because Shen Xing Ren is driving me crazy (A Rant)

    • If fiction is a sort of reflection of reality then maybe, just maybe, they create pacute characters out of Mayel Misulas.

      • Well at least she’s been immortalized somewhere. I wonder if there are Jee Geronimos in movies/dramas/books? #foreveralone

  1. Pingback: #School2013 | A Stroke of Grace

Leave a Reply

