‘See you later’ and not ‘goodbye’

This is Marimel Realon, and this is a story of how we became good friends.

20120426-191820.jpg

We were classmates back in grade school–once or twice I think–but never again ’till we graduated high school in 2008.

Like how I became closer to Kimiko, I would also like to acknowledge the presence of a certain someone–he who must not be named–because if it weren’t for my friendship with him, I don’t think I would even be invited to this woman’s despedida dinner last Tuesday.

One random day, as I was living the Ateneo dream (ano daw), she contacted me (thru which, I do not recall anymore). That day, she asked me if I am best friends with a certain someone, and she asked me a lot of things about him. Bear in mind that at this point of the story, I was already wondering why I’m being asked in the first place, since while I think I was best friends with him before, at that moment I actually thought Marimel’s a whole lot closer to him compared to me. But answer I did, and soon enough, our conversations became more and more frequent.

Our random conversations weren’t always about him, mind you. We also talked a lot about other things: topics that comes to mind right now are faith, Korean dramas, Kimiko (hahaha), blogging, and more Kimiko (Oo Bheb sikat ka). It’s safe to say, I guess, that although few of these conversations were actually done face to face, a peculiar bond has already formed between us.

You should meet this girl. Once you get to know her you’d understand that while she is very opinionated about a lot of things, she actually has the K to be so. She knows what she wants and she does everything to get it. She’s smart (and not to mention, intelligent), talented, and very cheerful. Very cheerful indeed. I remember back in high school, her laugh always echoed across the halls, from the Revelation classroom (her section) up to our classroom (James), and with a classroom in between, mind you.

20120426-193757.jpg

She’s a kid at heart, but don’t let her stature deceive you: that same heart is so big it reaches out to all her friends, best friends, and family. Just look at the people around her and you’d know she’s not just anybody. She’s THE Marimel Realon, and I’m so blessed to have known a bit about her even after high school.

She’s leaving for Canada tomorrow, which is why I wrote this blog. If you know her and you came across this one, please take time to pray that she and her family would have a safe trip.

And Marimel, if you’re reading this (and of course you will be reading this because I’m going to send you a link after I publish it, DUH), thank you for the short time we became good friends. Like what I tweeted you last Tuesday: 14 hours is just meh now, thanks to technology. I can’t wait to hear your stories and adventures in that new place the Lord is bringing you to. Keep in touch, and I’m just one WhatsApp message away! (I promise to check more regularly!)

20120426-194939.jpg

I end up this blog with a verse. Trust in the Lord and His plans. I’m excited for what He has in store for you there. Take heart!

I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go, and I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.

Genesis 28:15

We will see each other again, and it won’t even feel like you left at all. >:D<

20120426-195329.jpg

All photos from Marimel’s Facebook account.

6 thoughts on “‘See you later’ and not ‘goodbye’

    • Talaga? Aww Krish >:D< I read your latest FB wallpost and can I just say I'm very blessed with how God is really dealing with you and changing you from glory to glory? Excited for you! 😀

  1. Bechay! Thanks for everything! I’ll miss you but we can make chika pa din naman diba? Take care! Kwentuhan mo din ako ng nangyayari sayo! ❤

Leave a Reply

