MINDBLOWN on Christmas Day

I think I’d write about Christmas later, but for now, I’m just overwhelmed with Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind that I have to write about it. Thus, this post!

I’ve met most of the best people in the world in college. That phrase is even an understatement, but I don’t know any other way to put it. Anyway, in college I’ve met friends who–because of their passion–influenced me to have a greater appreciation for films.

You know who you are. Thank you 🙂

I still have a lot to learn about films, but I do know a good film when I see one. Twilight isn’t (and yes, I’ve seen it recently haha), but Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind definitely is.

This isn’t a review of the film. More of a Movie Appreciation post, because while this one’s way out of the ordinary (circa 2004 of course), it just hits all the right spots for me. I’m the type who will watch horror movies during All Saints’/Souls’, but not Christmas movies on Christmas Day.

I think Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind will be my yearly Christmas tradition. 🙂

I don’t know, this film may have seemed weird at first, but because of friends who made me watch far weirder films than this, I wasn’t weirded out by the end of it. In fact, my reaction was something more like this:

UGH. ANG GANDA. (repeat Nth times)

I love this movie. With all my heart. It may have started quite morbid at first (erasing memories of a loved one), but the story and the little details just came together so perfectly, all tied up into one beautiful knot.

Clementine had all of her memories of Joel erased. In return, Joel had all his memories of Clementine erased too. Job’s done, they know absolutely nothing about each other, but somehow something’s lacking. They both know it. And in search of that, they found each other again.

In the film, we only see Joel’s memories of Clementine, but I observed that those were all beautiful memories. They were so beautiful that in the middle of the erasing process he wanted to back out. Because in a relationship, you always remember the good memories, and never the bad ones.

Of course he wasn’t able to back out, but at least he got to meet her again and start over. I especially like this quote by the end of the film:

Joel: I can’t see anything that I don’t like about you.
Clementine: But you will! But you will. You know, you will think of things. And I’ll get bored with you and feel trapped because that’s what happens with me.
Joel: Okay.
Clementine: [pauses] Okay.

That is the perfect conversation to end this film. When things get rocky and messy and unbearable in a relationship, you will say ‘It’s okay’ to the love of your life. Because that person would be worth sticking to for the rest of your life.

After all, the good days always outdo the bad ones 🙂

Now I realize this isn’t a break-up film. Rather, it’s a true love kind of film. I’m glad I watched this today, right now, because it gives me hope. Gives me hope that one day, I will meet You, the love of my life, and you will stick by my side ’til death do us part.

And I will stick by your side just the same.

But ’til then, I will wait and prepare myself for those tough times, wherein giving up might seem like the best choice. Giving up will never be a choice for me. So dear future husband, wait for me. I’m still working on my patience for late night fights and smelly feet, for dirty laundry and unpaid bills.

We’ll meet, and when we do, we will know that our love will be for keeps.

‘Til our first Christmas together (and to the many Christmases we will be spending in the future!).  I can’t wait but I will wait. 🙂

P.S. aka non-artsy observation of the film: JIM CARREY circa 2004 you are so handsome. You should totally stick to this kind of genre and quit being funny because this suits you more. Ktnxbye!

4 thoughts on “MINDBLOWN on Christmas Day

  1. Awww! This is so true. Ahuhu that was such a good movie.

    Also: “P.S. aka non-artsy observation of the film: JIM CARREY circa 2004 you are so handsome. You should totally stick to this kind of genre and quit being funny because this suits you more. Ktnxbye!” –> THIS!!!! :))

  2. Though the procedure in the film is fictional, recent research has shown it is possible to successfully erase selective memories in lab mice. Such a procedure may lead to cures of post-traumatic stress .

Leave a Reply

