Smiles and Promises I

Smiles and Promises was the title of the secret photoblog I used to keep. I started that blog when I was at my lowest point this semester. I needed something–anything–to hold on to. I needed to see the beauty of the world. I needed to find reasons to smile. And I figured, photos make me smile. Also, that there were photographs in the past in which I was smiling so happily.

If I could smile then, why can’t I smile now, I told myself. So for 100+ days, every single day, I looked for reasons and I took pictures of them. This made me smile, that one too. There were days when on the surface there was nothing to be happy about, but God would impress in my heart things that I took for granted, and things I just did not choose to see.

It helped me see the world in a different way, and more importantly, I learned to be grateful. In every circumstance, whether it be ups or downs, I just knew–God loves me so much He won’t let me stay sad. ‘Staying sad’ is not trusting. ‘Staying sad’ is not letting God take control.

I deleted the blog because (1) it got harder to maintain as the busy days came rushing in and; (2) I think it already served its purpose. I already regained my confidence and self-esteem through it.

In commemoration of the blog that brought me back my smile, I present to you the Smiles and Promises series, in which I will be posting one photo per week. I will record each week’s highlight and approach it with a grateful heart, be it a victory or a defeat.

As you may already know from my previous post, I went to Quezon Memorial Circle last Wednesday to take photos for my Basic Photography final requirement. It was a very beautiful day, the sun was up and bright at that, and the people in the place were all so interesting.

It’s funny even, that it only rained when I was already on my way home. Oh Lord, You and Your ways 🙂

The sun will no more be your light by day, nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you, for the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory.

(Isaiah 60:19)

Leave a Reply

