The Wife of Noble Character: Mama

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. (Proverbs 31:10)

To mom, with love:

Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. (11)

Kuya and I have already heard countless versions of your love story with Papa, but if there’s anything I will remember ’til I find Mr. God’s Best, it is this: No matter who he is and what his personality may be, if God leads me to him, then He will give me the grace to accept every single thing about him. And I will always pray for him, like how you prayed for Papa. Look where your prayers have brought him!

Thank you, because you never gave up on Papa, and you never give up on us, ever. You’re truly the strongest woman I have ever met, ever. ❤

She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks. (17)

I remember the years that you’ve worked hard for our household, and I hope you’re proud of the fruits of your labor: one, a woman who wants to be a badass journalist, and two, a youth pastor who is on his way to becoming a lawyer and the future president of the Philippines.

Thank you for supporting our chosen career paths, and thank you for being there through the ups and downs. I remember when I didn’t qualify for the Netherlands exchange program, you suddenly brought the family out for dinner. You said it was to cheer me up, and I appreciated that. After that day, I wasn’t sad over it anymore; it was your encouragement that reminded me that I am destined for far greater things–there are still things in the future to be excited and hopeful for.

When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet. (21)

I have never been confined in a hospital since…since I was born? Always, I give credit to my strong immune system (stamina? I always get this one wrong) but I think more than that, it’s because you have always cared for me during the days I’m too sick to function. You’ll take care of me ’til the late of the night, and even if we’re too far away from each other you’ll always take time to ask for my condition.

Thank you, because you always meant good whenever you remind us over and over again to take our Vitamin C, or to bring our umbrellas with us everywhere.

She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. (25-26)

God knows our family has been through thick and thin, and your solution to every stumbling block has always been prayer. When we’re too anxious to focus, you gently remind us: Trust God.

Thank you, because more than anything, you taught me to put my trust in Him no matter what the situation may be. You always know the right words to say at the right moments.

And just to be really, perfectly honest, I am still in awe of how wise and intelligent you are.  In my world, you really surpass all them mothers. In our world, no other woman can outdo you.

Because you are perfect, just the way you are. 🙂

Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” (28-29)

Believe me, Mama, when we say that we care. We care so much about you and your health. We also care about what you tell us, all the advice, and yes, even the sermons. We love you, everything about you, and we are so proud of the woman that you are 🙂

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. (30)

Who can outshine you?

Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. (31)

In my world, none. ❤

I LOVE YOU, MAMA!

Leave a Reply

