One

Oh, what a year means.

First, I would like to apologize for the lack of posts. As you can see, I’m still trying to catch up with my Post-a-Week challenge. And while blogging has now become a chore more than a desire, I think I need to go to Blog Rehab, if there ever is one.

But I’ve been active on Tumblr, if what you mean with active is reblogging posts that I can relate to, or posting realizations now and then. I also started a photoblog dedicated to everyday things that make me smile just so I won’t forget to smile anymore. I know, I look ugly when I don’t smile, and I don’t blame you if you think I’ve aged, but gravity’s being a total loser by pulling my lips down for quite some time now.

But hey, a blogoversary shouldn’t be this sad. So I’ll talk about this blog now.

I started this blog for many reasons, but here’s the most important one: while I loved Multiply, I think I needed a change. I saw Iya‘s blog, and it was her site that inspired me to move on and start afresh. It was a good decision. For reasons I don’t know, I can’t just randomly blog here unlike back on Multiply; in here I have to really challenge myself to write lengthier, to dig deeper into the depths of my thoughts and emotions, and to just let loose. It has been a great ride since then.

When I look back now, I see how this blog grew on me like Multiply did. Somehow this one has been witness to the life of an almost-20 yr. old aspiring journalist who loves, lives, and learns. Over the course of a year she has become strong yet vulnerable, wise yet foolish.

But she wrote. She wrote to her heart’s desire. She wrote without anything holding her back. What has been written in this blob on the web tells a lot about who she is. Folks, I dare say for one year you read the very life of Bethany Joy Y. Geronimo.

And for the years to come I hope to keep this blog like it is: a piece of my heart. Nothing serious, nothing fancy or worth earning money with. My life, faith and love–you don’t need to pay me to write about it all. Because I was made for this. I was made to write about these things, and should you get something out of it, praise God. But if you fancy nothing in here, that is not my loss. You see, I’ve come to realize that while my future may involve writing for an audience, in here, I write for myself.

Of course, this too shall pass. Just like any earthly treasure, this blog is also meaningless, vanity even. So while it has already grown on me, I’m not attached to it. Now all I want to do in life is to live one day at a time, living an identity first, as a Christian, next, as a writer. I want to live, breathe, and eat the Word of God. I want to be dependent on Him and no one/nothing else.

So to celebrate one year, 7K+ hugs, 135 posts, and 180 comments, I will blog less and live more. And hopefully, by living more, this blog will be a witness to the lives that would be changed and to the hearts that would be turned back to Him just because I have decided to put Him first. He will use me to do greater things.

I am more than ready.

5 thoughts on “One

  1. Pingback: MY BLOG TURNS TWO!!! | There is no fear in love

Leave a Reply

