Lessons from David

God speaks to us round-the-clock, even during the most mundane time of the day. The real question is not whether He is speaking loud enough for us to hear. Sometimes, when we want answers from Him, we ask for a sign–any sign–just so we know He is answering us when we pray. But the real question is really, this: are we listening in the first place?

Last Thursday’s lesson from my cell group Bible study is from Psalms 139, specifically on verses 1, 23 and 24. I l0ve my Bible’s version (New Living Translation) of the chapter. It says there:

v.1 O Lord, you have examined my heart
and know everything about me.

It’s really unthinkable for the Lord to even take time and examine my heart. Think about it–with all of the world’s problems, why would He want to even waste time on me? Yet the wonderful thing about Him is that whenever He examines my heart, He doesn’t think He’s wasting time at all! He even knows everything about me. Everything. Can you imagine? It’s scary, yet at the same time comforting.

Scary in the sense that He knows everything I do, right or wrong. I can’t hide anything from Him. I can hide from everybody else, but I cannot hide from Him no matter how hard I try. It’s simply like this: I know everything about you, so why bother hide? God is inviting us to lay it all out in the open–everything about us. Because He knows them anyway, and He has plans for us.

It is comforting to know that this all-knowing God understands everything I am feeling–every heartache, every struggle, every joy. Because then I can never say that nobody cares.

When I was younger, I felt lonely most of the time. I have friends, but even friends disappoint. I have parents, a brother, but even they can hurt me. So I thought I will be alone forever. Not anyone in this world can ever understand my feelings, I figured, because they are not me.

But God understands every emotion that I went through while I was growing up. He cares. Tremendously, at that. And if we will only listen, He has something to say–comforting words, most probably–in every trying moment of our life.

v.23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.

v.24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

David is the man after God’s own heart because he knew exactly what God wanted man to do–to invite God into their hearts, where both innocent and crude thoughts can be found.

I can imagine God waiting for any invitation that may arrive in His prayerbox. Where will He be invited today? At a kid’s bedtime? At a couple’s relationship? At an unbeliever’s heart? He sure loves invitations.

I bet He gets excited whenever we invite Him into our hearts more often than we usually do. Because when we do, we make Him sovereign over us. We make Him take the driver’s wheel of our lives. We give Him control.

He wants to be in control, because when He is, rest assured, we will never have to worry ever again.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from David

Leave a Reply

