The good thing about faith

Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things unseen (Hebrews 11:1) and I still believe that as long as I have faith, as long as I want to act because I am driven by my faith, then my future will be clear. And bright. Very bright.  But lately, I guess I have been running along mindlessly with people who are driven to fatten their resumes, to make themselves look more impressive than they actually are. To advertise themselves, in other words. And in effect, I have become one of them. I wanted to try new things. Part of those, for the experience, but most likely, and I would say subconsciously, I just want to sound great.

But apart from God’s will I am nowhere near ‘great’ or ‘impressive’. I may fill up five pages of my resume, but apart from God’s will, five pages can only mean so much as trash.

I have been running a rather vain race, and now I need to stop this. Quit, I must.  Because there is a race far more important than the race everyone is trying to win. I need to look at the other direction. As I always say, I go for eternity. And my eternity is with my Daddy. I will run the race that pleases Him the most, because this is the race most worthy of every sweat and blood.

The good thing about faith? You don’t worry about meaningless things the rest of  the world worry about. Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? (Matthew 6:26)

The future is still clear, still bright. And in all the things that has been happening to me recently, this one thing is still true: God is still good, always and forever.

Leave a Reply

